Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content

Home > About Us

About Us

The Board of Directors of the Metro Wastewater Reclamation District has selected a new District Manager to replace Catherine R. Gerali, who retired in December 2017.  William J. “Mickey” Conway became the new District Manager on January 21, 2018.
Click here to read the full message →


Who We Are

The Metro Wastewater Reclamation District is the wastewater treatment authority for most of metropolitan Denver. We are a large, stand-alone special district formed by the Colorado legislature as the Metropolitan Denver Sewage Disposal District No. 1 in 1961 to provide wastewater transmission and treatment services to member municipalities and special connectors in compliance with federal, state and local laws.

Construction of our first facility, Robert W. Hite Treatment Facility, and 50 miles of interceptor sewer lines began in 1964. The plant began operating in 1966.

In 1990 our name changed to Metro Wastewater Reclamation District.

We serve 60 local governments that are composed of both cities and sanitation districts. Of these 60:

  • 22 are members with voting representation on our Board of Directors.
  • 26 are special connectors that have direct contracts with us.
  • The remaining entities are served indirectly through members and special connectors.
Our service area includes Denver, and parts of Adams, Arapahoe, Jefferson and Douglas counties.


Awards and Certifications
We have been recognized through many different awards and certifications including:
  • Gold Award
  • EPA Award
  • National Biosolids Partnership Certification
Click here for more details →


 From the Newsroom